TLTQ Live - FAN EXPO Chicago 2022
"

TLTQ Ep. 83 - The Business of Fandom (recorded at FAN EXPO Chicago 2022)

Holy heck! It's the very first special episode of TLTQ - and it's a glorious nerdfest. Annie P. Ruggles recently brought her brand of entrepreneurial enthusiasm to the show floor at FAN EXPO Chicago and sat down with 14 phenomenal makers to discuss life at the intersection of art, business, pop culture, and sales. How did they find their own style in a sea of similarity? How has their own fandom inspired their work? How have they built community around shared passions? Let's find out.

What's inside:
0:00 Theme Song & Introduction
3:13 Alexandra Brodt Illustration (www.alexandrabrodt.com)
8:35 Andrew Heath Design + Illustration (www.andrew-heath.com)
11:09 Brianne Adelman of FrankenWerks Studios (www.frankenwerksstudios.com)
16:16 Darryl Young Design (www.darrylyoungdesign.com)
19:23 Drew Blank, Arter & Writist (www.drewblank.com)
25:38 Marcelo Biott (www.themarcelo.com)
30:55 Marcus Currie of Soul Bullet Entertainment (soul-bullet-entertainment.square.site)
33:26 Meg Earhart of Sparkle! Designs (www.shopsparkledesigns.com)
38:49 Minerva Fox (www.artbyminervafox.com)
41:50 Red Harkinson of Red Den Studio (www.facebook.com/RedDenStudio)
45:20 Rob Hogan (robhogan.me)
59:31 Tabitha Minnich of Geeky Girl Stitches (www.facebook.com/geekygirlstitches)
1:01:59 Tina Isola (www.tinaisola.com)
1:04:49 Tony Moy (www.tonymoy.art)
1:11:50 Final Thought & Homework

*** for a visual companion to this episode, including much of the art mentioned, visit  https://www.anniepruggles.com/blog/FANEXPO2022***

This episode contains over 40 pop culture mentions including Lore Olympus, Lord of the Rings, Avatar: The Last Airbender, Kiki’s Delivery Service, Godzilla, the Nintendo Gameboy, Ghostbusters, Mad Max: Fury Road, Aliens, Beetlejuice, SNL's Mr. Bill, Jack Kirby, Empire Records, Parks and Recreation, News Radio, tick, tick...BOOM!, The Muppet Show, Heathers, Clue, The Rocky Horror Picture Show, Twilight, My Fair Lady, Dear Evan Hanson, Hans Christian Andersen, Pretty Soldier Sailor Moon, Vincent Van Gogh, The Powerpuff Girls, Elden Ring/Dark Souls, The MCU, Doctor Who, Andy Warhol, Moulin Rouge, Toulouse-Lautrec, Pokemon, My Neighbor Totoro, Star Wars’ Ahsoka Tano, Zelda: Breath of the Wild, Highlander, Spiderman, and The X-Men. Annie conducted most of the interviews while cosplaying as Grandma Yetta from The Nanny.

Huge thanks to Jerry Milani and the FAN EXPO PR team for this opportunity. They put on a helluva show all over the US and Canada. For more information, head to FANEXPOHQ.com

*Parentpreneur advisory: this episode contains a few bits of colorful language.

To RSVP to our next Open House, just fill out the form below! 

Login details will be sent to you by email.
We will never ever SPAM you or sell your information.